There’s something that annoys me.

And that’s “assigning” a sexuality to a character. It doesn’t matter at the end of the day. Most anime characters are fourteen or younger. It doesn’t matter if they’re gay, straight, bisexual, transsexual, asexual, pansexual, robotsexual…you get the point. It’s usually not relevant to the story. At the end of the day, I don’t care if Mami Tomoe was asexual or a lesbian. At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter. I watch anime to enjoy it…not to debate the sexuality of the characters I like. Unless it’s literally the exploration and focus of the show, I honestly can’t say I care. I’m not the least bit disappointed when I find out a character is straight because I literally just don’t care.

I do make jokes that Ryu Yamada is gay for Miyamura, but I literally don’t mean it. I don’t care. I already know what happens since I accidentally cheated.

The point is that it doesn’t matter. A character can like what they want. Their own gender or the opposite. In only really matters in romance anime, tbh. Yuri and yaoi, we just know that the characters are gay because that’s the market. And in straight romance, the characters are straight. But again, I really don’t care. I watch anime to enjoy it.

Yes, I do say “GAY” because I’m pretty uncomfortable with straight romance. And I don’t really mind yuri undertones, either, but I just can’t stand all this sexuality debates for little girls and little boys. I know I called Binan Kouku “gay magical boy show” because I felt like it, but I never sat and debated who in the show was whatever sexuality they were.

Yes, I ship characters, too. But shipping is just what everyone does. Ships aren’t always canon, and I have my personal otps, but that doesn’t mean I think my otps are going to happen. They’re just for fun. My opinions are no less meaningful than another’s. At the end of the day, I’m just another weeb who likes anime.

Unless it’s literally confirmed in the show what their sexuality is, then it really just doesn’t matter.

I’ve come out as lesbian myself, and I don’t flaunt it, but recently I’ve been identifying as genderless, but I still like girls. But this has nothing to do with this post. I’m going through a lot of identity issues right now, but it’s not like I don’t know how to sort myself out.

I feel like the “insert character here is gay!” “Insert character here is bi1” Will literally always be an argument. I guess I have no right to complain, but it’s just a pet peeve of mine. Okay. I’m sorry. I’ll stop now. I’m almost into tl;dr rant mode. …I guess I saw this day coming at this point, but who can blame me? I’m just a person on the internet trying to reach out to people about the anime I like.

Anyway, that’s pretty much it. I’ll go.

One thought on “There’s something that annoys me.

Leave a Reply

