Gunslinger Girl

This was one I’ve been meaning to watch for SIX YEARS. I’m not even joking. I wish I were. I saw an advertisement for it when I was a 12 year old watching my very first anime on DVD, Full Metal Alchemist. Mind you, this was in 2009 or 2010. I think it might have been 2009. I have been wanting to watch this anime for over six years now, but I wasn’t ready.  I also had complications. Not only wasn’t I ready, I couldn’t even find the DVD. I saw an ad for it where Rico didn’t know what to say to that boy, and she replied “Oh I know! I am sorry…” that was literally all I saw because FUNI had ads for it on various DVDs. It wasn’t until today that I finally wrote it in my schedule.

I’ll start off by saying that this is in the girls suffering genre.

Yes. That’s a genre. I made it up to refer to any anime where the main subject is about girls that are suffering/sad/depressed/impoverished/etc. Madoka, Selector, Yuki Yuna, Dolls Fall are four other examples of anime and manga within this genre.

Anyway, the point of this show seems to be a social welfare agency. Already, you know, we’re in for a sad plot. I don’t know what the situation is with Henrietta yet, but I can already tell it’s a pretty sad one. Triela is a big sister character, and Rico… hmm. Rico seems like she’s got the most tragic of the three. The other girl, the glasses girl, I forget her name. The show is so quiet, I never hear it.

Need I note this show takes place in Italy? Yeah. I think it’s weird they all speak Japanese when they’re in Italy. But this is anime, so I’m going to assume they’re actually speaking Italian in this one. I was considering looking for an Italian dub so I could watch it in its proper language, but I can’t understand Italian without subtitles. I also don’t feel like watching it in English. That’s just…nah.

So, so far, I can tell this anime is going to be extremely sad. I read some of the manga awhile ago, but I barely remember it. That was a long time ago when I sat down to read it.

I don’t know where this show can possibly go, but I guess I just need to keep going. I highly doubt there will be any yuri of any kind, but I do ship Henrietta and Triela.

Leave a Reply

